World Standards for allowable levels of lead in water

World Standards for allowable levels of lead in water

The World Health Organization (WHO) has set the quality standard for acceptable levels of lead in drinking water to 10 μg/l (ppb). The Water Supply (Water Quality) Regulations 2000 define the current European standard for lead in water supplies as 25 μg/l (ppb). In December 2013, the EU will adopt the WHO standard of 10 μg/l (ppb).

The Federal-Provincial-Territorial Committee on Drinking Water (CDW) in Canada and the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) in Australia also follow the 10 μg/l (ppb) limit.

The US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has set a guideline of 15 μg/l (ppb) as the standard for lead in drinking water.

Lead remediation programs have been employed by many countries in order to meet these standards.

For More information on these regulations, select the appropriate agency below:

World Health Organization (WHO):
- Lead in Drinking Water
- Protocol on Water and Health

United States:
- Lead in Drinking Water
- EPA - Lead and Copper Rule

European Union
- Lead in Drinking Water
- The Drinking Water Directive (DWD), Council Directive 98/83/EC

United Kingdom
- Lead in Drinking Water
- Regulation 31 of the Water Supply (Water Quality) Regulations 2000

- Lead in Drinking Water
- Australian Drinking Water Guidelines (2011)

- Lead in Drinking Water
- Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality

Our website may contain links to other websites of interest. However, once you have used these links to leave our site, you should note that we do not have any control over that other website. Therefore, we cannot be responsible for the protection and privacy of any information which you provide whilst visiting such sites and such sites are not governed by this privacy statement. You should exercise caution and look at the privacy statement applicable to the website in question.